Google Maps is now available in isiZulu, Afrikaans and Swahili

google maps languages feature march 2018

Mountain View internet tech Google has added 39 more languages to its Google Maps product “spoken by an estimated 1.25-billion people worldwide.”

For Africans who rely on the service daily, it’s a massive update.

No ad to show here.

Afrikaans, isiZulu and Swahili have been included in the refresh, alongside a slew of Eastern European and Southeast Asian dialects.

Users can now switch to one of these languages within Google Maps on the web or the iOS and Android apps. The interface and place names will then be translated accordingly.

The addition of new languages to Maps comes after the company improved the service’s UX for wheelchair users. However, this update is not yet available in South Africa.

Below is the full list of languages included by Google in the update:

Afrikaans, Albanian, Amharic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bosnian, Burmese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, Georgian, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Kazakh, Khmer, Kyrgyz, Lao, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Mongolian, Norwegian, Persian, Romanian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian, Uzbek, Vietnamese, and Zulu.

Feature image: Google

No ad to show here.



Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Memeburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.

Exit mobile version