No ad to show here.

Google Drive and Google Photos will no longer sync photos and videos

Google on Wednesday revealed new changes to Drive and Photos that will prevent automatic syncing between the two services.

This means that images saved in Google Drive will no longer show up in Google Photos, and vice versa.

No ad to show here.

“Photos and videos you delete in Drive will not be removed from Photos. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive,” the company further noted.

With this, Google will now be implementing a new “Upload from Drive” option for Google Photos. The feature will allow users to choose which Drive media they want copied into Google Photos.

“Since photos and videos will no longer sync across both products, items copied in Original Quality will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photo,” the company explained.

Though syncing will cease between Drive and Photos, users will still be able to use the Backup and Sync feature on both Mac and Windows.

“Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos,” Google said.

The new update will roll out on Google Drive and Google Photos next month.

Feature image: Google 

No ad to show here.

More

News

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Memeburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.

Exit mobile version