Until now, Google’s +1 button has allowed you to share the fact that a page is to your liking and…that’s about it really. Things are about to change though.
The internet giant is reportedly rolling a refreshed version of +1 that will see it become a social recommendation button.
According to specialist site The State of Search the recommendation will be from the site you’re visiting. That means they have a far more vested interest in you actually clicking the +1 button.
Once you click on it, you’ll be shown other pages and on the site or domain that might be of interest to you based on what your friends have clicked.
While the change is a definite boon to website owners, it seems that it will no longer be as easy to use the button to share on Google+.
That might not be good news for people who use the social network, but maybe this is what Google should’ve done a long time ago and used it as a springboard for launching a truly effective social graph.