Uber South Africa on Tuesday revealed a new PIN code verification tool to help further ensure safety during trips. According to the company, the…
WhatsApp on Thursday officially launched its new privacy settings feature that will allow users to decide who can add them to group chats.
Users can now choose whether “Nobody”, “My Contacts” or “Everyone” can them you to groups on the platform.
“‘Nobody’ means you’ll have to approve joining every group to which you’re invited, and ‘My Contacts’ means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups,” WhatsApp explained on its blog.
Invitations for group chats will be sent via private messages, and the recipient has three days to accept.
The new settings, which first launched to beta users earlier this year, can be accessed by going to “Groups” under the “Privacy” settings.
According to WhatsApp, Group privacy settings have already begun rolling out and will reach all users within the coming weeks.
Feature image: Shereesa Moodley/Memeburn