Johnny Clegg, one of South Africa’s most influential musicians of the late 1980s, has died. The news broke on Tuesday, however Clegg has been…
Last year Google revealed that it would be shutting down the consumer version of Google+ due the platform’s waning popularity.
In a statement on Thursday, it detailed what will happen to current users’ profiles, and how best to adjust to the death of its social network.
Google will officially shut down Google+ on 2 April 2019, when all user activity, profiles, and uploads will be removed.
While users can still back up their content until then, by 4 February, the company will disable the creation of profiles, communities, and pages. This will also affect sign in buttons on some sites, and comments on others.
“If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button,” the company explained.
Comments made via Google+ profiles on to other sites will also be removed by 4 February.
The social network will remain active for G Suite users, which Google notes will receive a new lick of paint.
“We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home,” the company concluded.
Feature image: Google