The Eternals, Mighty Thor and everything else planned for MCU phase four

Marvel Studios logo MCU

The 11-movie long third phase of Marvel’s cinematic universe (MCU) came to an end with Spider-Man Far From Home in June, making way for the next, and eagerly awaited, fourth phase.

Marvel on Sunday revealed what the MCU’s fourth phase is going to look like, announcing several upcoming movies and series at this year’s San Diego Comic Con.

The Eternals

The Eternals follows the story of immortal beings who protect Earth on behalf of the god-like celestials.

Starring the likes of Angelina Jolie, Salma Hayek and Richard Madden, the movie will premiere on 6 Novemeber 2020.

Thor: Love and Thunder

Thor: Love and Thunder will be the fourth movie in Thor’s franchise and the second to be directed by Taika Waititi.

However, though Chris Hemsworth is reprising his role as the god of thunder, Natalie Portman will be playing the Mighty Thor.

“Taika Waititi returns as director, and he confirmed that Jane Foster will become the Mighty Thor, goddess of Thunder,” Marvel said.

Thor: Love and Thunder will hit cinemas in November 2021.

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Marvel confirmed that the classic Shang-Chi comics will come to life on the big screen in February 2021. The title character will be played by Simu Liu.

The studio also confirmed that Shang-Chi was first hinted at in the Iron Man franchise, which mentioned the villain Mandarin.

That Mandarin, however, was fake and the real character will be played by Tony Leung.


Marvel surprised fans with the news that vampire hunter Blade will be getting his own movie too, though the company has not revealed a release date just yet.

Fortunately, the studio was able to confirm that Mahershala Ali will play the human-vampire hero.

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness

Doctor Strange, played by Benedict Cumberbatch, will get his second MCU movie in May 2021.

“But joining Doctor Strange this time around will be the Scarlet Witch, played by Elizabeth Olsen. In another twist, the events of Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness will connect with the Disney+ series Marvel Studios’ WandaVision,” Marvel further revealed.

WandaVision, The Falcon and The Winter Soldier, Loki and Hawkeye

First confirmed for Disney+ in April, Marvel also announced several series it will be releasing on the upcoming streaming service.

Original actors from The Avengers movies will all reprise their roles for Loki, WandaVision and The Falcon and The Winter Soldier.

While the latter will air on Disney+ in 2020, the other Marvel series are set for 2021.

Hawkeye, originally revealed by Variety earlier this year, will also make Disney+ its home in 2021 and feature the rumoured character Kate Bishop.

What If

Also confirmed by Disney in April, Marvel’s What If will stream exclusively on Disney+ in 2021 as well.

The series, which depicts alternative MCU realities, will be the studios first animation, and “many actors from across the MCU will reprise their roles as voice talent”.

Black Widow

Finally, Natasha Romanoff is still alive and well enough for her very own standalone movie Black Widow. Granted, it is set long before the events of Avengers: Endgame. 

“It looks like we’re going to find out a lot more about Natasha Romanoff!” Marvel teased.

The movie’s cast will include Scarlett Johansson, Rachel Weisz and David Harbour.

Look’s like the MCU’s phase four is going to be a busy one.

Feature image: Marvel 

Shereesa Moodley


Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Memeburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.