Here are the SA Car of the Year finalists

south African Guild of Motoring Journalists South African Car of the Year awards Hyundai Grand i10

The South African Guild of Motoring Journalists has announced the finalists for the 2021 SA Car of the Year awards, with Toyota and Hyundai leading the pack.

The Guild revealed the finalists on 31 May.

In addition to becoming the overall winner, the finalists have the chance to win in one of nine vehicle categories. The categories include Budget, Compact, Family Compact, Family, Premium, Performance, New Energy, Adventure SUV, and Double Cab.

There are no contenders in the Luxury category for 2021.

Hyundai and Toyota each have four models nominated in multiple categories. They’re followed by Porsche, Suzuki, and Mercedes-Benz who have two finalists each.

You can check out the full list of SA Car of the Year 2021 finalists below, split into the nine categories:


  • Hyundai Grand i10
  • Suzuki S-Presso
  • Toyota Starlet


  • Hyundai Venue
  • Opel Corsa
  • Suzuki Vitara Brezza

Family Compact

  • Hyundai Creta
  • Kia Seltos
  • Mazda CX-30
  • Peugeot 2008 SUV
  • Toyota Corolla Sedan XS/XR
  • Volkswagen T-Roc


  • Audi A4
  • Mercedes-Benz GLA
  • Volkswagen Caravelle


  • BMW 4-Series
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class


  • Hyundai i30 N
  • Porsche 911 Turbo S

New Energy

  • Porsche Taycan

Adventure SUV

  • Land Rover Defender 110
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado

Double Cab

  • Toyota Hilux

The final scoring round of the award will start soon and run until 11 June. During the round, the finalists will be subjected to more detailed scoring and include sales data.

The SAGMJ will announce the category winners and overall SA Car of the Year winner on 26 June.

Feature image:

Read more: New Hyundai i20 to rival Vivo and Polo

Sam Spiller, Staff Writer


Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Memeburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.